My Most Used Makeup Products of 2015

blog photo make upI feel like 2015 was the year I really started to experiment with different kind of make up brands, both high end and drug store which I find really exciting! However, throughout this time I have gathered up my favourite products, which I used extensively throughout the year.

Bronzer – My favourite drug store bronzer, by a long shot, is definitely the Bourjois Chocolate Bronzer powder. A great factor to this bronzer is that I have been using this for what seems like ages and am nowhere near hitting pan, which is excellent. It is also very inexpensive, costing £7.99 at Boots, meaning that you won’t have to rob a bank to afford it. The only downside to this product is the packaging. Personally, I think it isn’t the most attractive, and does look quite cheap. But aside from that, the product itself is great.

I also have a favourite high end bronzer which is Mac, (I included both because I couldn’t decide which one was my fave), in the shade ‘Aphrodite’s Shell’, firstly the packaging is amazing and beautiful as I purchased this earlier on in the year during the aqua limited addition range. The bronzer itself leaves a luminous finish on my skin, and it is durable, but not quite 10 hours that it’s advertised to last for. However, I haven’t used this product as much as the Bourjois one and I have already hit pan, which is quite disappointing when it costs more than double the drug store one, coming in at £24.

Foundation – My holy grail foundation of 2015 has been the infamous Rimmel London Match Perfection in ‘Ivory’, as it is just so durable (without the need of a primer), gives a great, beautiful dewy finish, has good coverage and it comes with a pump! It’s totally worth the money at £7.99 as each bottle lasts me for months. The smell is also delicious, which is unusual for such a cheap foundation. The consistency is also fab, as it is a liquid foundation, but it’s not watery so it’s easy to apply without the product sliding all over the place. Overall, I love it.

Concealer – My ultimate favourite concealer has been the Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer in ‘Fair’. As, unfortunately, I have been riddled with very bad dark circles under my eyes, so I personally prefer a heavy duty concealer that can cover all the nastiness, and this bad boy does the trick. Its coverage is thick which means I don’t find any blueness coming through, it’s also very long lasting too which is of course very beneficial. I apply this product by smearing it on generously under my eyes in a triangle shape, and then press it in with the real techniques brush, I continue to pat the rest under my eyes with my ring finer to ensure it’s all blended in. Another bonus is that it’s very inexpensive, costing £4.19.

Eyebrows – Throughout 2015 I was addicted to the Soap&Glory Archery Brow Tint & Precision Shaping Pencil in ‘Brownie Points’ as it glides onto the brow so easily with the waxy pencil on one end, and a felt tip pen that is easy to fill in sparse hairs on the other. The colour fits my brunette hair perfectly, plus, the product stays in its place throughout the day so you don’t have to worry about your eyebrows heading south and ending up on your cheeks. I think the product is well worth the money, coming in at a very modest price of £10.

Eyeshadow – I’ve been religiously using the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette throughout 2015, mainly using three particular shades. I firstly used the matte shade, ‘Tease’ and applied this on my crease, just below the brow bone in a windscreen wiper motion, then put the shimmer shade ‘Busted’ on the outer corner of my lid and up to the crease, followed with a tiny bit of ‘Blackout’ as it is very pigmented. Then, blend blend blend…. To finish this everyday look I applied ‘Foxy’ all over the lid to brighten my eyes. I adore this palette due to how versatile it is, and how many looks can come from it. I find it very interesting and enjoyable discovering new eye makeup looks from this palette.

naked pallette

(A well loved) Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette

Highlight – To put it lightly, I am obsessed the Mac Mineralise SkinFinish Highlighter in ‘Soft and Gentle’ as it has such a beautiful shimmer, which I apply to the tops of my cheekbones, cupids bow and bridge of my nose. It gives me so much more life and a beautiful, metallic finish which I adore! Retailing at £24, I personally think is a very reasonable price considering I used this almost daily throughout 2015 and have only just hit pan.

Lipstick – My ‘Go to’ lipstick of 2015, and my all time favourite is by far MAC in the shade, ‘Shanghai Spice’. The nude shade is beautiful, and will probably suit those of a more warm skin tone. Its creamy and moisturising formula helps the beautiful colour to glide onto the lips perfectly, and stay put for hours. The cost for this beautiful lipstick is £15.50.

SHANGHAI.jpg

(A very messy) MAC – ‘Shanghai Spice’

I’m sorry I haven’t reviewed all of those products shown in the picture, but I feel like that this is already such a chatty post, I don’t want to bore any of you even more than you already are – ha! Anyway, thank you for reading this far!

What are your favourite makeup products from 2015? Do we have any that are the same or similar?

Much love,

Ellen Grace X

 

 

21 thoughts on “My Most Used Makeup Products of 2015

  1. Awesome blog post! 🙂 I love naked palette! Naked 2 was my first one and then I got hooked! Now I have all of them 🙈 and I swear my the expert real technique brush 🙂 xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

