First Impressions: L’oreal Products

 

loreal products

I was in desperate need of a new mascara, so of course I went to Boots where I *happily* stumbled across a 3 for 2 sale on L’Oreal Products. I was already keen to try out the Telescopic mascara due to hearing so many positive comments about it, plus I also got an item free so smiles all round! Along with this, I also purchased the True Match Foundation, and the True Match Super Blendable Powder, and today I tried them out for the first time.

To Start – True Match Foundation in ‘Golden Ivory’ 

I firstly applied the Clinique Moisture Surge moisturiser, then waited around 7 minutes for it to absorb into my skin. I shortly after applied this foundation with my Real Techniques Buffer Brush. In total I used 1 pump as it is a thicker foundation which I personally prefer. However, one downside to this formula is that it is very liquid based, so it did run down my hand which was a bit of a pain when I was trying to apply it! But it’s still manageable to use. When I started to apply the foundation I was pleasantly surprised as it glided onto my skin beautifully, blended like a dream, and gave me really good coverage.

Below are two photos I took, the first is straight after I’d finished my makeup to get an insight into what my skin looked like with the foundation and powder on, and the second around five hours later after I’d returned from work. I think the foundation gives me a really nice flawless look, and did a good job at hiding my under eye circles and various other imperfections. The only downside to this product is that it seemed to really highlight my smile lines which I didn’t like. 😦

True Match Powder Super-Blendable Powder in ‘Rose Ivory’

powder

I really enjoyed applying this translucent powder on top of my foundation, as it feels heavenly applying to your skin as it’s such a soft powder that allows you to build upon the flawless look from the foundation. This powder also effortlessly blended really well into my skin, which is an added bonus if you’re planning on applying this in a rush! (as I am most of the time). This powder also comes with a little soft sponge and a good sized mirror which will be useful when you’re out and about. The powder itself is of a really good size and will easily fit in your handbag, which is always beneficial.

However, I have had this product on now for around 8 hours and throughout the course of the day it’s given me a caky look which is horrible. It’s made my pores look even larger than they already are, and the foundation looks as though it’s come to the surface of my skin and is just placed there. – Definitely not a good look. Does anyone know why this happened?

Telescopic Mascara

Honestly, I was unsure about whether I would genuinely like this mascara as I am very fussy about the brushes and the formula. However, I am very fond of this one. I like the brush size as it is easy to coat every lash, both bottom and top. I applied around three coats of this mascara and I did find it start to clump which I don’t mind too much, however if I were to put on another coat or two they would start to look like clumpy spiders legs. From this mascara so far there hasn’t been any crumbliness which is amazing and what I see as another major advantage to a mascara as there’s nothing more irritating than having little black specs of mascara around your eye.

I will be using these products for the future as I think overall they are good, and at just over £20 for all three is a decent price for the products.

Do you have any of these products? If so, how do you apply them?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

Categories: Tags: , , ,

12 Comments

  1. I have the True Match foundation and it’s probably the best one I’ve ever tried. I really do love it. I apply it with a damp beauty blender and it covers really well! Sometimes I mix it with their Lumi Magique base and it looks really dewy on the skin 🙂 Really loved this post- looking forward to reading more 🙂
    L x
    http://www.letterslovely.com

    Like

    1. Hmm, I’m not entirely sure because it’s quite a heavy coverage I’d be worried that it will leave dry patches! However, if you moisturise before and apply with a Kabuki brush then you may find it does suit dry skin… I recommend getting a sample of it first before you splash your cash! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

