The Most Underrated Drugstore Foundation?

It wasn’t until the other day when myself and my flatmate were flicking through the aisles of Superdrug, swatching all the many beautiful colours on the backs of our hands and swooning over all the new, shiny products, that I discovered the most underrated drugstore foundation – ever. The Rimmel London Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation in ‘100 Ivory’. My flat mate had tried it before and said how good it was, whereas I hadn’t even heard or seen of the product before. So I hastily picked one up since it was on a bargain 2 for £10 offer, plus I thought I had better join the deal with my flatmate (I’m just trying to justify myself spending money) and give this tucked away treasure a try.

IMG_0925IMG_0924

When you think of Rimmel London, to me, it’s all about Wake Me Up and Match Perfection foundation, among others that every single amateur makeup fan would have heard of. However, this one… not so much. Perhaps it’s just me that hasn’t really seen it before in drug stores, maybe I focus on the more liquid foundations in the glass bottles. Or maybe, I just don’t pay enough attention.

I have now been using this product for about a month, and I can tell you, I have been pleasantly surprised. Admittedly, the packaging looks a bit more cheap, as the Rimmel foundations are normally in a Glass bottle with a pump, however this one is in a little plastic tube which needs to be squeezed out. However, the formula is a thick liquid mousse which means that a little goes a long way, (trust me, I only use a small amount and I normally go a bit OTT on foundation), which ultimately means the product itself will last a long time which is great. The foundation itself is also very thin feeling due to its mousse consistency which is great as I hate them foundations that feel really cloggy and thick on my pores. Plus, this foundation is oil free which means it would be great for people with oily skin as it won’t make it worse. Also due to the promising shine control which it guarantees too.

Another amazing added bonus is that this product blends in like a dream. Honestly, I simply apply it with my real techniques buffing brush and it takes seconds for it to have properly blended in which means it’s a great foundation to use if you’re in a rush, as it doesn’t take long at all for it to completely blend in and ready to move on to the next product, which I love. Particularly because most times i’m running late.

IMG_0926IMG_0923

The only downside to this foundation is that I do feel like sometimes it highlights my pores, which is a real shame as it states that it tries to minimise pores. However, in comparison to other drug store foundations its not that bad, as others have been worse.

All in all I love this drug store foundation and is now one of my favourites. Mainly due to its staying power which means I don’t have to worry about touching it up throughout the day, and its lovely matte finish which doesn’t make my skin look dull at all, and its great coverage which can be built upon if necessary.

What foundations do you love that perhaps aren’t that well known?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

*Where to buy – http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-London-Stay-Matte-Foundation_1378522/ (Be quick! It’s still on the 2 for £10 offer!)*

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

