A Brisk Sunday Ramble

To me, Sunday is the perfect day to spend time with your loved ones. I love spending Sundays with my family and enjoy quality time with one another and eat home-made roasts or go out for lunch in a local pub. This weekend I was home from halls, so we decided to make the most of it and eat out, as it meant my mum didn’t have to slave away cooking a roast dinners for hours. Instead she could just relax. After we had finished our lovely meals, we decided to go on a spontaneous family walk to a destination that my parents haven’t been in a long time.

IMG_1020IMG_1023

It was such a beautiful day. This is when I truly knew that Spring was among us, which is confusing considering it was snowing about 10 days ago, which I think sums up British weather perfectly. However, it was cold, but sunny. The trees looked exquisite whilst the sun rested behind them.

We trudged through mud and climbed hills which I was loving as it meant I could burn off the Eton Mess Sundae I had just demolished half an hour before.

Whilst in the midst of my work, I noticed it’s not until you actually look around, that you notice how beautiful the Earth is. Everything looked so perfect, yet so messy, with the different colours and shapes of the trees, the dry and wet mud that was sticking to our shoes, the beautiful sky shining above us, with the sun looming down hitting us every time we moved.

After walking (and stumbling) over many different sticks and clumps of mud, we finally reached our main destination; Dead Mans Plack. I had been here when I was younger but had no recollection. It was sentimental to my Mum as she used to visit here as a child. It’s such an amazing monument that should be more widely recognised. I will certainly be visiting here more often during the Spring/Summer months.

IMG_1031IMG_1030

IMG_1049
What am I doing with my feet?

It was then that I noted to myself that I should go on more walks. Explore some more lovely places and embrace the country side whilst being in the beautiful country that is, England.

IMG_1024

What’s your favourite thing to do on a Sunday? Do you know of any amazing walks?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

 

Leave a Reply

