ALL ABOUT THAT BASE

base.. bass.. see what I did there? ha ha ha I’m so funny

For me, there’s nothing more satisfying than when you’ve got a flawless base of makeup. I find that when there’s a good base, then the rest of your makeup will also turn out great too, and will leave you feeling happy and ready to battle the day.

I think I have found great makeup products that looks great, and more importantly, lasts, so here’s what I do..

img_5620

I start off using the Nivea for Men Post Shave Balm. Why would I use that, you ask? It’s for men? Well, after watching Nikkie Tutorials’ video, where she tried it out and used it as a primer/moisturiser, I thought I may as well give it a go…

… And it’s great! I use it as both a primer and moisturiser as it is very nourishing on my skin, and it also includes glycerine, which acts as the ‘glue’ which sticks to makeup. It is better than any primer i’ve ever used, and it doesn’t leave my face feeling sticky or dry. Winning!

After that, I move onto foundation. I use the Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation in 103, True Ivory. I apply this with the Real Techniques Buffing Brush, which is a great brush for a fuller coverage due to it being so dense.

img_5619

After this, I go onto concealer. I either use the Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer in shade 1. Or the Maybelline Eraser Eye Concealer in Light. Both of these products are amazing. They are great at evening out skin tones, erasing blemishes and under eye bags. I apply my concealer in a large ‘V’ shape under my eyes and simply tap it in to my skin with my ring finger.

fullsizeoutput_2518.jpeg

At this point, I look scarily pale and 2-D. To make me look more alive, I add some bronzer. I use the Ted Baker Bronzer and Blush Compact, in Rose Gold. I received this as part of a set for Christmas, and my gosh, it is amazing! I swirl my Real Techniques Contour Brush into both the blush and bronze and add it to the apples of my cheeks.

I look the colours as they’re so natural and make my skin look so vibrant!

img_5622

I then use my Real Techniques Setting Brush, dip it in to Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder and pop it under my eyes, on my nose, and on the chin. Then leave this on for around 5-10 minutes.

After that, I swipe the excess powder off, which leaves my makeup looking non-creased and more flawless. I then go onto my favourite part of my makeup routine; highlight! I always go way over the top with this and end up looking like a disco ball – oh well.

I use the MUA Undress You Skin Shimmer Highlight, which I purchased in Boots for £3. It’s so worth the money as it is highly pigmented and the payoff is excellent.

img_5627

The end result –

img_4857

What’s your normal base routine? Is it similar to mine?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

