REVIEW: INFAMOUS RIMMEL FOUNDATIONS

Everybody has heard of them. That’s right, it’s the infamous Rimmel London foundations; Match Perfection and and Lasting Finish.

Shockingly, it wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I actually tried the Lasting Finish foundation in shade 100; Ivory. Before that I was using the Lasting Perfection foundation in shade 103; True Ivory.

Although they look fairly similar aesthetically, due to them both having the same 30ml glass exterior, and a plastic pump, they are in fact very different. Match Perfection has a medium coverage; whereas Lasting Finish has a full coverage.

Match Perfection gives a more dewy finish and does look a lot more natural. So, if you want that desired look, then I would definitely recommend this foundation. Whereas due to the full coverage, Lasting Finish gives a thicker, more matte look. Personally, I prefer Lasting Finish for the coverage as it requires only a pump to get my satisfied coverage, whereas I find I use more of Match Perfection, and then looking a tad orange. However, Match Perfection will be an amazing foundation for the summer due to its natural shine, and due to the light consistency.

rimmel-blog

img_5642

I personally found that Match Perfection did not last as long as Lasting Finish. After a few hours it would go a bit patchy and rise to the surface of my skin, whereas Lasting Finish has amazing staying power and stays on all day without any touch-ups.

However, both foundations blend easily. I did originally find that with Lasting Finish, the consistency is thicker than Match Perfection, so when blending you can feel it going onto the skin and have to put a tiny bit more effort into blending than Match Perfection, but that’s only very minor, and isn’t that noticeable.

img_5653

I would notice, more often than not, with Match Perfection when my foundation oxidises after a few hours, it does turn a few shades more orange, so when I get home after my day out I realise the shade doesn’t actually match my neck all that well! Lasting Finish also oxidises but not to the same extent, I find that it matches my skin tone a lot more.

img_5637

What I found mainly from Match Perfection –

Pros

  • Lovely, dewy finish
  • Light foundation
  • Great range of shades (12 to pick from)
  • Very affordable
  • Easy to apply
  • Smooth finish
  • Blends great
  • Light consistency

Cons 

  • Can sink into pores quite easily
  • Find that I can look a bit orange with an extra pump
  • Can get patchy with dry skin

img_5636

What I found mainly from Lasting Finish –

Pros 

  • Has a comfort serum for the skin
  • Stays on very well
  • Colour shade is true to the skin
  • Sweat, humidity, heat and transfer proof
  • Covers redness and imperfections really well
  • Doesn’t dry up
  • Doesn’t go cakey

Cons

  • It can accentuate fine lines (eg my smile lines)
  • Limited shade range (only 8 shades to choose from)
  • Can feel quite thick when blending.
img_5658
Top – Lasting Finish Bottom – Match Perfection

Personally, I would recommend Match Perfection for those who don’t have much redness or blemishes to cover, but instead want to have a lighter, more natural, dewy coverage.

Whereas Lasting Finish is more suited for those who want to cover more, and have a thicker, more fuller coverage, and more of a matte finish.

All in all, they are both very good foundations that have different functions and properties, and would recommend them both!

Have you tried both of these foundations out? Which one was your fave?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

Leave a Reply

