HOW TO GET THE PERFECT BROW

Eyebrows can be tricky to get right. I know how it goes, one of them looks perfect. Like if they were a person, they’d be someone who wakes up at 7am every morning and goes for runs and eats smoothies. Then you do the other one… which looks as though it represents someone who gets up at noon and slobs around all day and looks a shambles. I know the feeling too.

After years of having such mediocre slugs across my face, i’ve realised there’s a knack to eyebrows, which I wish someone told me all those years ago.

So, let me take you back to where it all started.. back in 2015, when I was a naive young girl who thought drawing on your eyebrows just meant finding the darkest product possible and using as much product to make them really stand out was a great idea. Well I was most definitely wrong. Here’s a snippet of what I looked like (yes I did used to go out in public like this) –

bad-eyebrow

But here are my current brows..

img_5782

I don’t know about you but I see a major improvement in the second picture! Here are my steps to how I’ve improved my eyebrows:

1- Brush Them Brows!

Brushing your brows is so important! Spooley brushes are very inexpensive, and are great for using to determine your eyebrow shape. They also help to determine where your brow begins, the arch, and where they finish if you are a beginner and aren’t sure where to fill them in.

With spooley brushes, they can create an unruly, messy brow look which can look really great, or they can be used to tame your wild brows for a more casual look, which can also look just as pretty.

I also use spooley brushes after i’ve applied product in them to distribute the product and make it look more natural.

2- PLUCK PROPERLY!

That’s right, get some decent tweezers and pluck hairs that look a bit messy. This does not necessarily mean plucking every single hair under your eyebrow so that it leaves you with tiny eyebrows. Sometimes plucking less is more. Trust me. You do not want really thing, sperm-like eyebrows! I recommend filling your brows in the way you want them and then pluck around the unruly hairs, so then you know which eyebrow shape you want and which hairs are good for the shape, and which ones are a bit sparse.

If you have natural, big eyebrows, just tidy them up. Over-plucked eyebrows aren’t that great, and when they start to grow through loads it look super obvious.

If you are stuck trying to find the perfect shape eyebrow for you, go to a professional! Even if you get them waxed once, you can then see which shape the technician waxed for you, so then you can simply pluck them hairs away when they start to grow back and will stay in perfect shape! Trust me, they’re professionals for a reason.

3- Use Light Strokes!

The key to getting the right brow is to make it look as natural as can be! Honestly, you do not want to look like the first picture, I used to use a really dark pencil shade and would use so much pressure when applying the product, which is WRONG and naughty.

Instead, if you find it easier, use a makeup brush, apply a tiny bit of product and start really light. Use short strokes to mimic actual hairs and build the product up to as much as you desire.

It’s better to start off with less and then keep applying more, instead of putting tons on and then trying to brush it out.

4 – Find the Right Product!

As you can see from the first picture, I clearly was using a shade about 4 shades darker than my actual hair colour. For some this can look good, but because my brow is all the same colour, it looks completely false.

Once you’ve found your perfect shade that matches your hair colour, start off with less product at the beginning on the brow for a more natural look, and then make it a tad darker in the tail.

Also, the type of product best is completely personal preference. My favourite eyebrow products are either ABH Dip Brow Pomade in Medium Brown, or Rimmel London Brow This Way, which have quite thick consistencies, but glide beautifully on the brow!IMG_0894img_5421

 

5- Follow Your Natural Brow Shape!

Your eyebrow has a natural shape that if you follow, will be a lot easier to apply product and will look really natural.

I used to overdraw my eyebrows so much and you could clearly see where my brow finished and started and it looked quite ridiculous.

Instead, I prefer to start off with the tail of my brow, and build that up, following my eyebrow where my natural arch should peak which is normally just above the corner of your eye, and then determine where your brow will end. You want your eyebrow to frame your eye, and keep gently follow your natural brow line until the end. Then with the remaining product, use it to fill in the beginning of your brow for a natural finish.

I still fill them in slightly over the natural hairs over the top, but now I use less pressure and build upon the product it looks so much more natural and not as crazy!

Here are just some tips i’ve found that have helped me create a better brow! Have you got any more?

Much Love,

Ellen Grace X

4 thoughts on “HOW TO GET THE PERFECT BROW

Leave a Reply

